Distractions and Mindlessness

The past few days have been off kilter for me. Or maybe they’ve just been an indication of how it might be during this warm, grass-growing season that has taken up residence in my world. For whatever reason, my mornings have become filled with a need to get things done. Very strange for one who has practiced and become so proficient at being lazy!

20120531-081551.jpg
Update on the baby robins, who grow ever so quickly. This was taken this past Saturday, and they have now left their nest to begin their lives in this great big world.

This is what time does – it changes things, it moves on whether we are ready or not. A bit like a kaleidoscope, life is – how it appears this day may not be how it appears tomorrow. Horizons expand, responsibilities sometimes lessen, sometimes increase. For me, they are increasing. Husband has always done our yard work, but now what he can do is much reduced which means what I must do is much increased. Result? Less time and energy for taking photos, for stringing words together into sentences, for hearing that little voice that says “I have words to set free!”

20120531-082019.jpg
The days are warming now and on those that promise lots of warmth the morning blinds get dropped to reduce the heat absorbed into the house. Yesterday morning, I noticed the effect of the stained glass piece hanging behind the blind with the sun shining through it. I thought it was intriguing.

Increased responsibilities brought with them a need to make a trip to town for a new “toy”. “Toy” being a relative term, of course. Earlier this week, I did that, I drove in to Home Depot to purchase a battery operated string trimmer, one that was not so heavy as the gas powered trimmer we already own, making it easier for me to handle and to operate. Not to mention that I really don’t want to deal with mixing gas and oil in proper amounts. The next day, after coffee out with the “girls” (in this case, the information gatherer and the artistic one), I came home and began to whack the grasses growing around the sprinklers and along the borders and then mowed. And mowed. And whacked. The Information Gatherer arrived on her lawn tractor and helped by picking up pine cones – which continue to drop and harrass – and haul them back to the burn pile to be saved until fall and the opening of a new burn season – to enable me to continue to mow. And to exercise muscles that have been lying fallow over the winter season, and which have been quick to remind me of that this past day or so.

20120531-082622.jpg

So daytimes have been occupied for the most part with busy-ness, then with napping and recuperating. Not a lot of observing what is going on out there, other than the fact that there remains tall grasses to be trimmed – tomorrow, after I purchase a strap to help balance the weight of the trimmer. Husband says that just means I’ll have sore shoulders instead of sore arm muscles. There will be a period of adjustment, changing my schedules about a bit. I did manage to notice there was a sunset last night and I did get out there with camera in hand, as you can see above.

So while I have not been reading your blogs, I have been thinking of you and when my mental reorganization gets itself managed, I shall spend time with you again. I miss that you know.

In the meantime, I wish you all enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Distractions and Mindlessness

  1. Your photos are beautiful, as always, Carol. It sounds like you are busy with good things. I think it raises the spirit to change or even maintain your environment in a way that you can really see the impact.

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    I’m just very happy that you’re busy with the yard (we’ve been much lazier!) and not occupied with more burdensome things. So glad you mentioned the non-gas-powered trimmer. We’ve been toying around with the idea, because we are not great with small – or large – engines.

    Like

  3. Photograph of baby robins is AMAZING!

    Like

  4. Yard work does seem to become all time consuming during this season. It was a smart idea to get the lighter trimmer. And I’m glad you still had time to stop and take some pictures between chores. I hope you take as much satisfaction from a job well done and a day out in the fresh air as I do. Oh and I recommend wearing an ipod while mowing. It is almost a form of stress therapy for me. Best wishes.

    Like

  5. suzicate says:

    As always, love the photos. It’s such a busy time of the year I understand where you are coming from. I’m behind on both blog reading and writing…and this is my cut back schedule I’m talking about!

    Like

  6. Lynne Ayers says:

    Love the blinds photo. And “words to set free” – a great phrase. Wish you enough Carol as you re-group

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    I believe yard work (the heavy, manual labor kind) is why God made teenage boys. But that last shot really says it all and…just maybe…makes the yard work worthwhile.

    Like

  8. orples says:

    I see your little robins are growing up fast, Carol. And you’re finding interesting things to photograph (I love the plant silhouette behind the window blinds), between picking up pine cones. It is too bad you can’t sell them to one of the arts and crafts shops. I can’t believe people actually buy pine cones to begin with, to be honest, as plentiful as they are. Anyway, I hope you get amalgamated back into summer shape, soon. I know how you feel, I am in the same boat as you are, when it comes to being out of shape. Winter has a tendency to turn us all to jello, it seems.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

