These Delightful Spring Days

We are having such lovely spring weather now, there are times that my heart feels as if it could just burst with the pleasure of it. Being able to get outside, to do some of the yard work, to just wander about the yard, inhaling the fresh spring air, enjoying the green green grasses – which continue to grow and must be mowed again before they become a prairie – oh my! How could one want anything more?!

20120510-073126.jpg

In this glorious weather, I like to take a cold beer to the front deck when the day is winding down, before dinner must be started, and just sit and relax, camera close at hand, and furry girls following me around. This day, Lily again chose the barrel that sits on an old wooden chair over the cover that allows access to the septic tank (that sure shot any romantic visions, didn’t it?) – the barrel that will hold plants of some kind after June arrives. Not that those plants will deter Lily from using that space as a good spot to lounge. Cats can be wherever they choose, you know.

20120510-073422.jpg

Bailey girl waits for me to toss her the ball, which I cannot do when I’m busy taking pictures. In years past, she wanted the ball thrown out for her to chase and catch, now she prefers that the ball simply be tossed to her waiting mouth most of the time. Bailey girl is starting to show her years, she will be nine this year, but it makes me laugh when she gets excited about something and forgets she’s no longer a pup. She can be stubborn, this one, but she is a love.

Shasta has come out with he Nylabone this trip, which means Bailey does not have to worry about Shasta intercepting when I toss the ball. Shasta is a brat, a loving, lovable brat, who always wants what Bailey has, just because Bailey has it. Shasta is not so good at catching a tossed or thrown ball, but she loves to grab it when she can and run off, making sure Bailey knows she has the ball so that Bailey will follow her until she drops the ball.

I love how their personalities differ, so much like people. But so much better at devotion and acceptance than many people are. “Love me and I will be yours forever” – a priceless gift.

As we sat outside, a bird I did not recognize arrived at the bird bath – which is really just a heavy terra cotta saucer, starting to show its age too – so camera went to burst mode and here is what we got:

20120510-074159.jpg

20120510-074222.jpg

20120510-074246.jpg

20120510-074312.jpg

20120510-074342.jpg

I could not tell what kind of bird this was, but once the photos were uploaded to the desktop and I could get a close-up view, I detected a touch of yellow on it’s back and the beak – the beak is the big clue in this case. I think this is a young Red Crossbill, although it seems very early in the year to have young of this size. It’s my best guess, if anyone else has a clue, please share!

Although it got down to 26 overnight, the sun is shining brightly and I think it might be a perfect temperature in that sun to go out and rake up the debris from the area that I cleared the pinecones yesterday – although I note there are a couple new ones out there. Consistency is good, I guess. I think I shall do that now, so I can be ready for my coffee date with my friend, the information gatherer.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to These Delightful Spring Days

  1. What a delightful post, Carol. Again I am sitting on the porch with you and a hot cup of coffee, listening to you tell stories. Your description of the girls cracks me up. Have a good time in the yard. I have to get dressed up in a little while to go out and tell stories, but this was like a little mini-vacation.

    Like

  2. I very much enjoyed the photographs — especially the ones of your companion animals.

    Like

  3. Colleen says:

    Good morning Carol, the little fellow in your bird bath does look like a young one. That would be about as far as I could go with a guess. Like Naomi, I enjoyed sharing your glorious spring morning. You have a gift for making one feel right at home here.

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    Naomi, Laurie and Colleen, thank you for joining me this morning! It’s such a nice way to start the day.

    Like

  5. orples says:

    I must say that I can identify with this post. Like you, I love to be outside on these beautiful spring days. It is like breathing the ‘renewal of life’ with each deep breath. You have some lovely photos, and obviously sweet animals to show off, Carol. Good job doing it, too. I love the fact you managed to catch your little birdie friend making a splash. Enjoy your week. 🙂

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    Thanks for getting me out of the house and into the sunshine! You have a lovely yard, and lovely furry companions. Have no clue on the little bird…hope he stops back to give you another look!

    Like

  7. Joanne says:

    I’ve got to say, I love Lily in the barrel, even if you did burst any romantic visions! Animals love and so basic, pure and unconditional. I love it! 🙂

    Like

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    Thanks for the morning chat and cuppa, Carol.

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    Isn’t it funny how we quickly forget that spring does indeed come every year?! Sometimes later than we’d like, but it comes none-the-less! I’d love to sit on the deck with you and while away the morning! Have a wonderful Mom’s Day weekend, my friend. xoxox

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

