Why oh Why I Want to Know

Why oh why did Old Man Winter snooze through winter and awaken as spring approached? Snow in March is not unusual here, but enough snow that I have had to shovel decks more frequently this month than I did all winter (winter being a relative term, obviously) is not usual. And not friendly. And not welcome. So today I shall post frustration, with pictures unrelated because I refuse to take anymore snow pictures this year. Or at least before November. Maybe October, but hopefully not.

20120320-091258.jpg

The pictures in this post were all taken one of the days we wandered about Vancouver Island, the city of Victoria, in the early fall of 2009. This is the Empress Hotel.

See that? Sunshine.Warmth. How about the magic transporter comes and transports me back there? Out of my morning room, away from the dog and the cat that seem to think my reason for existing is to open the door leading outside for them. The white dog and cat – no racism meant here, it’s just interesting that it’s Shasta and Lily who have the in and out thing going this day. Bailey and Twiggy (the black dog and cat) are sleeping. Bailey in the bedroom, Twiggy I”m not sure where since I just refused her access to my lap. She’s been there all morning, now I want to use it for the iPad and the keyboard. So that I can whine and complain to all of you. Evidently the dog and the cat are correct in their assumption that I am here to open the door, because I do it everytime they make the request. I do it everytime to avoid the noise that the Lily makes when ignored, and the pushing nose, swatting paw and ultimate attempt to get in my lap that Shasta employs to get my attention. I tell you, in my next life, I’m going to be one of my pets.

20120320-091821.jpg

The government building. Isn’t it a beauty?

I should vacuum today. I meant to vacuum yesterday, but my craft table called me to straighten it out. It complained that for too long I had been tossing things on it, and it was time to put things away. Random knitting patterns. Random strings of beads. I listened. I put things away. Then I rummaged through my supplies to see what I really have. Oh my. I needn’t buy anything more for awhile.Unless, of course, it’s on sale and is just something I cannot live without. I found some things I’d forgotten I had – quite a few, actually. I found a pendant set that would work perfectly with the brass pendant I had found on sale my last trip to Michael’s. The last purchase was a not quite circle – a rather wavy circle – of brass, with the words “Earth laughs in flowers” engraved on it. Yesterday I discovered I had, one day during this past year, picked up a wooden flower with two leaves – perfect! I glued the brass to the flower, strung the leaves and set it aside to dry. Perhaps today I’ll add it to the chain. If I don’t vacuum. I must reserve naptime you know.

20120320-092417.jpg

As we approached another hotel (the Princess maybe? I’m not sure) we saw a sight one rarely sees in October. Santa Claus in his carriage. In October? A bit early, don’t you think? Turns out they were taking photographs for their annual Christmas card. So much fun!

I am looking out now at a scene worthy of a Christmas card. Will I take the picture?No! Absolutely not! Unless and until it’s snow on a blooming daffodil or crocus. Color.I am so ready for spots of color. For daffodils, crocus, lilac, peonies. Pretty things smiling at me. Enough whining about weather; surely I have more things about which I can complain! Lily at the door again, hollering to go out. So she can come in in two minutes. Nope, not gonna do it!

I think now I’ll just quit talking, and post the rest of this group of pictures and say that will be it for today. I’m sure you’re tired of listening to me complain. I’m certainly tired of listening to me.

Okay okay! I’ll open that door. One more time.That’s it! Get it?

20120320-092926.jpg

20120320-092956.jpg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why oh Why I Want to Know

  1. Oh my gosh! The ivy-laden building in the first shot…and the snow-capped mountain in the fourth shot…and the eye-popping blue in the final shot.

    WOW — so glad to be on the receiving end of this type of “frustration!”

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    That hotel should be the Impress – I certainly am. Also I relate to your pet woes. I always want to come back as one of my pets, but maybe I’ll come back as one of yours πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. Sheri says:

    Jim and I stayed at the Empress three years ago. It was a wonderful experience . . . as was our entire time in Canada. Thanks for bringing back some very pleasant memories. (I totally agree with wanting to be reincarnated as a pet. Our cat definitely ruled our house!)

    Like

  4. My husband and I stayed at the Empress twenty-nine years ago on our honeymoon. Love your photos.

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    I love your stream of consciousness…and your wonderful shots of non-winter destinations. Now I feel really bad about posting some spring pics today! πŸ™‚ I hope your world is full of color very soon.

    Like

  6. Your pictures are always beautiful, Carol. And wishing I could send you a bit of our early spring where I live. It’s lovely… and I’m very grateful for it.

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    These are great! And the best part about snow? It MELTS! I hope yours is gone gone gone by now!!

    Like

  8. It’s so hard to imagine snow now! I can see why you must be sick of it!
    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I’m glad your crocus are hiding in there somewhere. Hopefully they will appear very soon.
    My father always says pets are always on the wrong side of the door!
    Save your legs – install a cat flap!
    I love the pictures of Victoria. We have friends who live there – I hope we’ll get a chance to visit them one of these days, it looks beautiful.

    I’m having major difficulties leaving comments these days – I’ll try to leave this via facebook which sometimes works.
    Writing from the Edge

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    Is your snow over with now? You poor thing. Have I told you lately how much I like your writing style and sense of humor? Your pics are very cool.

    Like

  10. pegbur7 says:

    Love these pics!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

