When You’re in a Bloggy Mood, Nothing Will Do But That You Blog

I have these pictures I have taken that are just crying to be shared. Not because they’re works of art but because they are my world, and my world seems to think your world might like to play. And I have these words that are just crying to be spewed forth. Not words of wisdom, or insight or anything like that, you know. Just words, waiting their turn to be strung into sentences.

Wee little ice drop

I was thinking this morning of some things I think are really unfair. Like how, the last day of February, we wake up to inches of snow. C’mon now! Tomorrow will be March. March is the month spring arrives. Yes, I know, this winter has had many days that seem a bit like spring, but we all knew that wasn’t real. I’m ready for real spring. Not real winter.

waterfall ice

Like how, when I finally get that bird in my viewfinder, when I’m finally ready to click, he leaves. Unceremoniously, just like that, he leaves! I’m offering him a chance at fame, and what does he do? Show gratitude? No, not at all. He leaves!

Ah ha! Quail have been here

I guess those unfair things really are not so bad. Winter will go. Eventually. Maybe. If we’re lucky. The birds will come back. I may not get the perfect picture, but I will get something. Enough to be a memory.

Here they are! Lunchtime.

The snow will snow, the wind will blow, but I have inside in which to huddle. I have a warm inside, with food, lots of food because we shopped before the snow came. Food, because I am fortunate enough to live where food is plentiful. Fortunate enough to have a warm house.

But you know – it’s still not fair that I sit here the last day of February and more snow is falling. It’s not fair because I’ve already shoveled porches and decks (the little ones) and steps. It’s really not fair that Mother Nature does not like me. I only speak poorly of her when she’s listening. I don’t talk behind her back. Isn’t honesty worth something? It should be!

Now a couple more pictures from this morning, then I shall go. Oh yes, it is this morning here, but this will not post until it is tomorrow morning here, so when you see this and read this, the pictures will have been taken yesterday, or the day before. You know what I’m saying, right? I am in the present, but it will be the past.

You’re ready for me to just shut up and go now, right? Okay, okay. Here are the last two photos for this round.

a rare sight, the two of them sitting quietly together.

Window art, my brother's and Jack Frost's

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When You’re in a Bloggy Mood, Nothing Will Do But That You Blog

  1. Wonderful colors! I’m torn between the “waterfall ice” and “quail lunchtime” photos.

    Did you know that if you add the “Pinterest” button to your “Share This” console, folks like me who enjoy your photography can “pin” it there with a direct credit to you and a link back to your blog. Just a little food for thought…

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    What kind of birds are those? I’ve never seen anything like that in my yard. Love the shot of the kitties on the window sill with the rooster. I laughed…thought the rare sight might me them sitting so quietly next to a bird! Spring is coming…hang in there!

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    So glad you felt like sharing these; always a pleasure to see through your eyes and your neck of the woods!

    Like

  4. You had me at the title, Carol! But oh these photographs are delightful.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    Love the dual window art πŸ™‚
    This winter has been passive-aggressive, that’s for sure! When one doesn’t want to go exploring in the cold, it’s sure nice to have a cozy place to hole up.

    Like

  6. coolfeline says:

    Loved the title of this post … that’s how I feel often too πŸ™‚

    These are lovely pictures! What are those birds …I’ve never seen them before.

    Birds are often very impolite when you have them in your viewfinder! πŸ™‚

    Gorgeous cat photo! What’s their names? You probably have mentioned before, but I’m new to this blog..

    Like

  7. Carol says:

    Cool, the birds are California Quail, who came north a bit. The back half of our property is all wild scrub, which they love. The cats? The light colored one is Lily whose Mom is a tabby-pointe Siamese, and whose dad is not talking. The tortoise shell is Twiggy – so named because as a kitten she had the longest scrawny legs and body.

    Like

  8. Dawn says:

    Love the quail…have always loved quail, not that I see any here, but have seen Kiabab (SP?) quail in AZ. Probably the cats were able to sit next to each other because they were intent on watching the quail!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    We didn’t get any snow this year. I SAW it for about three minutes, but then it was gone and left nothing behind. We had more 80-degree days than days below freezing. No winter! 😦

    So please, send some snow our way, and I will send spring your way. Deal?

    Love the pics!

    Like

  10. orples says:

    Your kitties look like they might be birdwatching. I especially love that photo you took of the “waterfall ice” (beautiful color, texture & subject matter).

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

