Costa Rica – Installment 3

We have reached the Veragua Rainforest and have begun our walk towards the aerial tram. I keep busy snapping pictures of the flora as we go.

P1010291

Below is the bloom of a banana tree. The bananas form on the vine above the blossom.

P1010290

P1010289

We hear the Howler Monkeys off in the distance, but we do not see them. We see colorful birds flying by, but they do not settle nearby so that we can point our cameras and capture their images. Except for this woodpecker, who is very busy doing what woodpeckers do.

P1010299

Near the tree with the woodpecker is a tree with an interesting band around its trunk. I would guess this band is the home of some kind of tree parasite.

P1010297

We walk further, through more of the dense rainforest foliage.

P1010307

P1010306

P1010303

P1010302

Another tree, this one decorated with a large cluster of seed pods and something that looks like a banana, but is not. The guide told us what this tree is – but that was nearly two months ago, and my memory obviously did not deem it necessary to retain that information.

P1010301

Further along, we reach the reptile display.

P1010309

P1010311

I took many more photos, but the glass fronts to their homes were in need of cleaning, and the quality of those photos left a lot to be desired.

Another time, more of the Rainforest. Tomorrow morning, however, The Gracious One, The Artistic One, The Social Flutterbye (previously known as the Information Gatherer) and I will be heading for a week at the coast. Girls’ week out. We’ll be taking with us wine and books – it looks like our week will be one with several rainy days, but we will not let that daunt our good spirits and our good time. Posts that might occur during this week will undoubtedly circle around our activities.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 2 cats, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Costa Rica – Installment 3

  1. Heather says:

    As you might imagine, I love seeing all the green. The very first image and the one with the raindrops appeals particularly. With books and wine on your trip, I cannot think that a few rainy days will spoil things any! Have a great time :)

  2. I love the exotic foliage. I also find it interesting that wherever you go, a woodpecker still seems to look like a woodpecker, and they always seem to be doing what woodpeckers do!
    Have a wonderful week on the coast. It makes me happy to think of you with your good friends, enjoying wine, good books, and good company. I never mind the rain if I have those other three things close by!

  3. green, Green, GREEN — I enjoyed seeing all of the luscious GREEN! Have a blast on your adventure; I look forward to reading about it in the future.

  4. Love all the flora and fauna in the jungle, Carol, especially that strange seed-pod looking plant, name unknown. It seems Costa Rica is rich and lush, and full of treasures!

I'd love to hear from you!

