Puerto Limon, Costa Rica

I spy land and civilization not too far away. We cruised overnight from the Panama Canal to Puerto Limon, Costa Rica and will be deboarding for this day’s adventure very soon.

P1010225

We’re pulling in to the port now

P1010223

where a very nice air-conditioned bus awaits us to take us for a tour, heading first to the Tortuguero Canal. As we get off the bus, the brilliant greenery awaits us, with stunning flowers plentiful.

P1010226

P1010229

P1010231

We board a “Tourist Transport” boat like this one

P1010239

We are seated, waiting as others board when I spy this tire intertwined with the roots of the tree. I guess every tree should have its own tire.

P1010233

The Artistic One is looking happy about another adventure.

P1010234

A requirement as we cruise the canal is to keep eyes peeled, both high up in the trees where one can see iguanas

P1010232

and a recurring theme, sloths

P1010249

P1010238

and along the edge of the canal, where there are herons to be sighted

P1010247

P1010251

and a cayman, which I am quite pleased to see is content to keep his distance.

P1010243

Many things grow in the trees, like these pods – our guide told us what they are but of course my CRS has taken care of that knowledge. I think they might be cocoa beans. Maybe.

P1010235

Also along the edge are water flowers adding bright colors to the scene.

P1010253

I shall warn you now, this is only the beginning of my Costa Rican story. It will cover several more posts – six to be precise. I found it to be quite enchanting.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 2 cats, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Puerto Limon, Costa Rica

  1. Robin says:

    Costa Rica is on my list of places I want to visit. It looks so beautiful. Glad the cayman kept his distance. He’s probably not someone you want to get too close to. We have trees with tires, too. I wonder how the trees feel about them?

    Like

  2. What an amazing variety of plant and animal life! That cayman sure looks scary. I love the reflections of the flowers on the water. Thanks for sharing your trip!

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Still so much color. It’s like being warm all the time brings out colorful exuberance.
    When we lived in Miami, we used to have to watch out for lizards up in the trees, too. Had to remove a few from car roof after they got baked on :( None as big as either the iguana or cayman though – small miracles you know ;)

    Like

  4. That’s an amazing array of wildlife, Carol! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. So much wildlife in trees, on land and water: sloths, iguanas, a cayman and herons! It’s so green too. Wonderful. Have you been reliving this trip in your daydreams?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I have indeed been reliving it. I have more photos I haven’t shared – yet – this time of year seems so busy with the yards to tend to. And visits to neighbors.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

