A Trip Through Happy Things

Lately there has not been much laughter in our household. Lately there has been a lot of stress in our household. Today I decided I needed to focus on things that make me happy, so I took a trip through my photos, through our happy times.

20131204-125028.jpg
Of course, the very first thing I think of when I think of what makes me happy are my kids. My Kat and my Gep, of whom I could not be more proud. Those two, who are my children but also my very good friends. Those two who have built and are building lives of their own with solid foundations. Those two who come to visit and make me feel they come because they want to, not because they are obligated to.

20131204-125314.jpg
And also very obvious choices, my furry girls who shall be shown here in order of joining our family. I cannot, will not, show preference. Much. The Bailey girl is our old girl, who is beginning to show her age but who still likes to join me in my big chair now and then. In this case, I got up to get a cup of tea, and take a picture, which she though was completely unnecessary.

20131204-125515.jpg
There is the Twiggy girl, who is a mature lady now. Well, maybe not a lady – that might be stretching things a bit. A mature girl might be more appropriate. Twiggy seeks out comfort and warmth, wherever she might find it.

20131204-125644.jpg
The Shasta girl, who packs a lot of power in that chubby body and just as much personality. She is a cuddler, our needy one. Her first year was not a good year, we have been told. She came to us from the pound just after her first birthday, and she is firmly entrenched now.

20131204-125821.jpg
Last, but certainly not least, is Lily, whose first winter with us created a good deal of vexation, but just as much laughter. Then summer arrived, she discovered the outside world and hunting and now graces us with her presence much less frequently. But she still knows how to stir things up when she is in the house.
What these furry babies all have in common is that they are all girls, they all know how to make themselves comfortable, they do not feel furniture is meant only for humans, and they are master manipulators and terribly spoiled. They get away with so many things my kids would have been given time out for, it’s ridiculous.

20131204-130141.jpg
Spending time with my friends whether we are sitting around one of our homes or traveling, exploring, experiencing, makes me happy. They are, of course, the Artistic One, the Information Gatherer and the Gracious One.

20131204-130309.jpg
These photos were taken when we spent a long weekend in Portland a couple of years ago. I look forward to more trips like that one, the four of us, musketeers we might be.

20131204-130425.jpg

20131204-130438.jpg
Seeing people of any and all ages, living their lives freely, completely. Marching to their own drummer without concern for what others might think. Being spontaneous, throwing themselves into whatever activity they pursue, letting it all out. I envy those people and hope that the older I get the more I can be that way. I want to make Jenny Joseph’s “Warning” my theme poem, my life guidance. You know – “when I am an old woman I shall wear purple with a red hat that doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me . . . “.

20131204-130926.jpg

20131204-130945.jpg
Taking pictures, of whatever, wherever, whenever, makes me happy. What catches my eye, my heart in any given moment – I want to capture that with my camera so that I can forever come back to it and feel the quickening of my soul, the singing of my heart, over and over.

20131204-131124.jpg
Going to the coast, walking the beaches, breathing the ocean air, listening to the sound of the waves pounding the sand makes me happy. Nothing can refresh my soul, my psyche, my heart more quickly than the coast.

These are some of the things that make me happy. These are some of the things I have captured with my camera so that I can revisit any time. Remind myself of all the wonderful things in my world, all the reasons to smile.

All of these things that make my life enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 2 cats, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Trip Through Happy Things

  1. sjbchamp85 says:

    This post of yours was a very good reminder for me to remember the good times. Always love your pictures and your “eye” for the usual and unusual. Hugs to you!

  2. lisa says:

    Ahhh, I can hear it now…..These are a few of my favorite things…..It’s always beneficial to try and focus on the positive lights of our life when everything gets dark and scary. I think I could just sit and stare at that last shot for hours! Sending you good thoughts and positive energy to help you have enough. xoxox

  3. Carol – I love your girls and all of the “rules” they break. They remind me of mine. I love your adult children and the fact that they come home not out of obligation. I love your adventurous friends (and your to-die-for turquoise and coral necklace). I love that these are more than ENOUGH.

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Great smiling with you today!

  5. Joanne says:

    Do your friends have a name for you Carol? I see you as artistic, gracious and an information gatherer as well, so perhaps you are the chameleon, the one who blends so beautifully to any situation but can also turn her hand to anything at any time. It’s always a pleasure to see your family, both the two legged and four legged members (Gep sure is outweighed by the number of those girls!) and I look forward to seeing you wearing purple with a red hat one day. :)

    • Carol says:

      Joanne, if my friends have a name for me, they haven’t shared it and I’m not sure I want to ask. I would happily accept your description – she says as her chest swells with pride.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  6. How wonderful to have a peek into favorite, happy times. I am glad you can use these photos to bring back fun times when things are not going so well. Lucky you to be able to call your children friends. At least there is Skype to see their smiles from so far away. All the best.

  7. suzicate says:

    Your photos warm my heart and bring a smile to my face. That is a great pic of Kat and Gep. You have wonderful friends. Here’s to laughter and love!

  8. Dear Carol,
    What a beautiful piece of writing, so well written, and chock full of the down to earth wisdom and good nature and wry humor and I have learned to expect from you. You began, of course, with the most precious gift, your children, and a photo that made me smile just to look at it. You have found so many bright spots, and thank you for sharing them with us too. You are an incredible person and an inspiration.
    Hugs and best wishes,
    Naomi

  9. Heather says:

    Sometimes you have to stop and smell the roses, even if it requires finding them first! Even when one’s not dealing with the fading of a loved one, it can be easy to lose sight of the good things in life, to become mired in the unpleasantries. Your family – furry and non – are beautiful, and I see a lovely picture of all the gals – with each of you in a flattering pose. Surely no one will threaten bodily harm for the sharing of those photos :)

  10. Robin says:

    Such a lovely post, Carol, and glimpse into your life.

  11. Dawn says:

    Your life is filled with good things and good people and good furbabies. You remind us that we all have good things in our lives if we stop a moment and remember. Have a good weekend..what’s left of it.

  12. Karma says:

    What a wonderful post full of happiness! Great reminder,Carol, to relish the good times.

  13. Karma says:

    Oh, and I meant to say, I love your new avatar – very cute!

  14. Kathy says:

    Enjoyed reading your “happy things” post. I am always especially happy to read how your kids are good friends. That doesn’t always happen–it’s such a gift when it does.

I'd love to hear from you!

