Share Your World – 2013 Week 43

Can anybody explain to me how Monday keeps getting here so quickly? Wasn’t it Thursday only yesterday? No? Well, fine then! When Cee says it’s Monday, then it must be Monday, so here I am, sharing more of my world.

1. Do you prefer to receive gifts or give them? I have a terrible time deciding what gifts to give to people, especially men. Men are so hard to buy for! When I buy gifts it’s usually because I really think the intended recipient will absolutely love it – then I spend the time between the purchase and the giving of the gift worrying about whether they will really like it. I like the fact that people care enough for me to give me gifts – and I believe gifts should only be given because you want to, not because you feel you should or must.

2. If you could be given ANY gift what would it be? Oh my – I already have the greatest gifts I could ever want – I have the love of my children and my friends. I have my friends willing to give their time and energy to stay with husband so I can go shopping. But if we’re talking material things, then I’d go for a two-month trip to tour Western Europe by car. With a friend. Or my kids. Just ambling here and there, wherever our hearts take us would be great!

3. If you had a shelf for your three most special possessions (not including photos, people or animals), what would you put on it? My camera. My iPad. My smart phone. None of the jewelry that means a lot, because I would be wearing that.

4. Would you spend the weekend in an abandoned house in the forest? I have never claimed to be unusually brave or adventurous, so it would depend a lot on how abandoned this house was. If it still had a source of heat, water and light, with a decent bed and blankets – oh yeah, some food would be good including some wine. And internet. I mean, if it’s more unoccupied than abandoned, I’d stay there. If it’s spooky creepy with cobwebs and spaces in the walls, floors or ceiling for things to come inside, I’d only stay there if I was stuck and the weather didn’t permit staying in a tent outside. Or my car. I’d have a car, wouldn’t I? I don’t require uber-comfort, but I do have standards. I’m not a cross-the-mountains-in-a-covered-wagon-in-the-middle-of-winter kind of person.

Now, the sunrise yesterday morning

20131202-131848.jpg
The weeping skies this morning

20131202-131948.jpg
And the grumpy Twiggy cat surveying the weeping skies this morning

20131202-132034.jpg

Here’s to a day full of enough for each and every one of you.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 2 cats, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Share Your World – 2013 Week 43

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I would be a person in the covered wagon discovering the west!!! LOL I adored your answers. You are well thought of my friend!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. cobbies69 says:

    I would love to spend time in an abandoned house no matter how bad it might be.. great answers.. ;)

  3. Heather says:

    The gift question is timely! And men are hard to buy for. Except my father-in-law – he always wants gallons of local (to us, not him) maple syrup. My dad though? I never know what to get him – and I definitely want to get him SOMEthing. You think he’d like a nice skein or two of soft yarn? ;)
    Gorgeous sunrise, and nice rainstreaks on the windows!

  4. Rob says:

    I agree; men are difficult to buy for. My grandfather used to drive us to an abandoned house after we stopped to buy ice cream cones. He would scare us with stories about the house – all of which he made up.

    I should have thought about the jewelry being on me, instead of putting it on the shelf.

  5. suzicate says:

    The weekends fly by don’t they? Amazing how we get attached to our techy communication sources…phones and computers, I know I’m guilty, and yes, I want my camera with me, too…oh, and my kindle!

  6. The possessions on my shelf would be similar: laptop, iPhone (which has my camera in it), and the keys to my truck.

  7. The gift question is certainly rhetorical. We all know we are supposed to prefer giving to receiving. I would say I love finding the perfect present for a special someone, but it does take a lot of thought and patience. On the flip side, I hate telling people my wish list, but realistically it does ensure I get something I want. However, if someone could intuit that information and surprise me with the gift, that would be the best.

  8. Pingback: Share Your World 2013 – Week 43 | imexcited

  9. imexcited says:

    I agree with you, gifts should only be given because you want to not because you should or must.
    Your photos are beautiful!

  10. lisa says:

    I always love you answers to Cee’s questions. I find myself nodding in agreement to many of your answers. Numbers 3 and 4 made me LOL! Agreed!!

  11. Joanne says:

    You gave a lot of thought to that abandoned house Carol! Love your train of thought there….my initial response was “Yes!”, but then you got me thinking…..

    The sunrise is glorious. :)

  12. pattisj says:

    Enjoyed your answers. I’m with you, no covered wagon adventure across the continent, but the trip to Western Europe sounds like fun. We like our gadgets, don’t we?

  13. Robin says:

    I always enjoy your answers to Cee’s questions. No covered wagon adventures for me, either. I like too many of the modern conveniences. :)

  14. Kathy says:

    It sounds like you described our house in the forest–except that it’s not abandoned, except when we go on trips. We live in the woods with every modern convenience. People so often think it would be peaceful to live in the middle of the woods–and it can be–except unless we humans recognize “enough” in our lives, we’ll take our longings and restlessness into the woods, too. Great post. And it’s almost Monday already!

I'd love to hear from you!

