Giving Thanks

Our neighborhood group shared a potluck Thanksgiving Dinner yesterday – because we like to spend time together, and when everyone pitches in it is all so much easier.

20131129-155510.jpg
Before the meal, wine. Of course.

20131129-155222.jpg
And conversation. The men were off doing whatever men do when they disappear into the outdoors, so The Artistic One, The Gracious One, The Information Gatherer (who is not pictured because she took the picture) and myself enjoyed a glass of wine or sparkling cider, depending on choice, and visited. We chattered, we laughed, we enjoyed, we drank. All was good.

20131129-155610.jpg
The table – before plates were filled and we were seated. Lovely, isn’t it?

20131129-155659.jpg
The Gracious One, our master entertainer, who hosted the dinner.

20131129-155753.jpg
Some of the food. Salads were on the table, turkey was being carved. Turkey did not get its picture taken prior to decimation. Can you believe I didn’t remember to take that picture – the traditional “here’s the turkey in all its glory” picture? Well, I didn’t! I may need to be replaced as official photographer.

20131129-155953.jpg
The neighborhood, minus one couple who was not here on this day and The Information Gatherer, who took this picture. Hmmm. Maybe I have already been replaced. Well, fine, but she did not take a picture of the turkey either.

20131129-160103.jpg
The centerpiece, behind which is The Information Gatherer who will probably shoot me next time she sees me. It seems I did not get one single good picture of her last night. I promise to make up for that, really I do!

20131129-160250.jpg
The remnants of the turkey – once the troops have completed their plundering. It is destined to find itself in a nice warm bath before too long to become a delicious soup. Because The Gracious One does not make food that is not delicious. It’s a trait I wished I shared with her -one of several.

20131129-160437.jpg
Later, after our stomachs have settled and we’re able to waddle away from the comfort of our chairs, there is pie to be enjoyed.

20131129-160531.jpg
Thanksgiving is done, on to Christmas. This is what the men were doing while they were outside and we were embibing – beginning the decorating for Christmas.

Husband stayed home, watching football, waiting for me to return with a plate of yummy for him. Which I did. He just is not up to getting out and about and socializing.

Tonight? Tonight we shall gather once again to share a meal of Thanksgiving leftovers. I think you can understand now why I am so very thankful to live in this neighborhood with these friends. I am blessed.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 2 cats, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. Carol – You’re neighborhood ROCKS! I love the way you shared Thanksgiving with each other. What a blessing!

  2. Heather says:

    You are rich with neighborly love. What a great-looking group, even if you didn’t catch the Information Gatherer at her best. Sometimes those who are not related make the best family.

  3. Carol, I’m so glad you had a wonderful holiday with friends. Happy belated Thanksgiving. xxx :-)

  4. Kathy says:

    It looks like you had such a marvelous time with your friends. Like Heather said, you are rich with good buddies. I like sharing wine before a meal with a group of family or friends. The laughter can be so precious. happy Thanksgiving.

  5. Dear Carol,
    You are such a good writer (and hostess), making us feel like we are sitting at the table with you all, enjoying the warmth and laughter. I am glad you have such a warm and supportive circle. You are twice blessed–once because you are, and twice because you know it.
    Sending you warm hugs and wishes for this holiday season.

  6. Dawn says:

    You are indeed blessed with wonderful neighbors!

  7. Robin says:

    What a blessing, to have such wonderful neighbors! :) I always forget to take a picture of the turkey, too.

  8. lisa says:

    What a wonderful time! Friends and good neighbors are such a blessing. I’m glad you had a good Turkey Day filled with laughter and good memories.

  9. Joanne says:

    Your friends all look so lovely Carol! They have kind faces, just as you do. What a fabulous group you are. Belated Happy Thanksgiving wishes to you all. xxx

I'd love to hear from you!

