Gray November Days Bring Gray Thoughts

20131120-140806.jpg
In the dark of the night

20131120-140836.jpg
And the frosty light of the day, we have politicians claiming the only reason they snorted the coke, or injected the heroin, and took the crack was because they were “stupid drunk”. Ummmm – is that supposed to make me feel better? I mean, are you saying I should forgive the fact that you took drugs because you were in a drunken stupor and didn’t know better? Okay – is it silly of me to wonder what things you might have said – things that maybe would be better off not spoken in public – when you were in your drunken stupor or your brain was drug addled?

20131120-141409.jpg
It makes me want to turn my back to you – I want to not look you in the eyes, because I could not, would not, trust what I might see there. Assuming I would see anything at all, other than redness caused by your last “episode”.
20131120-154724.jpg
While this little nuthatch is shy about having her picture taken, you seem not to be shy about much of anything. Other than, perhaps, taking personal responsibility and remembering that you would serve your country well by being a role model.
20131120-155247.jpg
While the birds like this towhee, and many of your constituents, spend their days scratching for food, scratching for enough, trying to work their way through the mire that life is becoming – due in large part to your actions; wait, make that inactions – you spend your days making excuses for your behavior, forgetting that your job really is to do what’s best for your people and your country, not worrying about getting re-elected or furthering the interests of your party. Sad.

I’m recommending a congressional tsunami.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 2 cats, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Gray November Days Bring Gray Thoughts

  1. “…your job really is to do what’s best for your people and your country…”

    Amen siSTAR!

  2. Hmmm, can’t help wondering who you’re talking about… Is it Toronto mayor Rob Ford? I’m sure it could be many others as well, maybe someone I’ve missed in my busyness. If it’s Rob Ford, that guy should be ousted immediately. The worst is that he has no shame.

    Love your bird pictures. Maybe that guy needs to spend more time in nature. :-)

  3. Trisha says:

    I’ve had similar thoughts lately! I watch the news and just shake my head. It’s amazing some of these idiots got elected.

  4. Joanne says:

    Oh dear….I stopped watching the news many years ago Carol, because of such disturbing news as you have described here. Your little bird friends are so much nicer to focus attention on. Unfortunately, the birds could probably run a country just as successfully as some of the politicians these days!

  5. jay53j says:

    ” … and remembering that you would serve your country well by being a role model.”

    That is exactly what these people forget, is it not? Do they even know what it means to be a role model, I wonder? We’ve heard of Ford and his shameless ‘excuses’, even over here in England. “I did it because I was stupid drunk at the time” is so far from being a valid excuse that it’s actually grounds for dismissal all by itself!

  6. lisa says:

    I wholeheartedly agree. We have friends in The Beltway and they marvel at the fact that all of the politicians are completely out of touch with the reality of the rest of the nation. They live in their own little self-centered bubble. it seems like gone are the days of ethics and integrity. Very sad.

  7. If a civilian went to work drunk or stoned, they would be fired. Why do politicians think these rules don’t apply to them?

  8. Kathy says:

    Oh those gray thoughts can be so challenging on these gray November days. It is so gray outside today that I can’t even remember sun. :) Going out to the school to teach Spanish to the little kids again this afternoon. Glad I’m not a teacher full-time.

  9. Heather says:

    Some people are just more equal than others.
    This is what bothers me (well, it’s on the list of things) about the drug war: only certain users face consequences, and we all know it’s not fair who faces them and who doesn’t. At least the birds are being responsible ;)

  10. Rob says:

    I agree with Lisa. It does seem like politicians live in their own little bubble, especially our national representatives. It would take a tsunami to break the bubble.

    D.C. is a different sort of city. They voted Marion Barry as mayor several times. Between two of his terms, he spent 6 months in federal prison after being arrested by the FBI for smoking crack cocaine (it was caught on tape). He still serves on the city’s Council. He remains in his position despite the fact that he has failed to pay taxes, tested positive for marijuana and cocaine, been caught driving drunk, and he was arrested for stalking (while on the Council). Over and over, he hasn’t been held responsible for these crimes. He also made racist remarks last year about Asians. He is a very popular local politician.

  11. Angelia Sims says:

    Sounds like PARTY to them is not political at all. Geez! Love your little birdies.

  12. Dawn says:

    Excellent recommendation.

  13. pattisj says:

    I’m with you–fed up with the behavior of those chosen to represent us.

I'd love to hear from you!

